2019 Indies Awards results revealed

IBA Indies Indie Awards 2019


Dainton Brewery’s Triple Dry Hopped Double Red Eye Rye judged to be Australia’s best independent beer.

Fixation Brewing Company awarded Champion Large Brewery, 3 Ravens awarded Champion Small/Medium Brewery and All Hands Brewing House wins the inaugural Champion Brewpub.

The Australian brewing community gathered in Melbourne tonight to celebrate the best beer in the country at the Independent Beer Awards, affectionately known as ‘The Indies’.

Hosted by the Independent Brewers Association, the Indies are an important platform to drive consumer awareness of the quality, excellence and importance of Australian independent beer, as well as providing an occasion for independent brewers to celebrate the strength of their contributions to improving Australia’s beer culture.

Over a thousand entries were judged by a respected panel of national and international beer professionals to recognise the best beers and award the Champion Beer Trophy to the most outstanding entry in each class.

The Champion Trophy awards winners are:

Champion Australian Indie Beer – Dainton Brewery’s Triple Dry Hopped Double Red Eye Rye

Champion Independent Large Brewery – Fixation Brewing Company

Champion Independent Small/Medium Brewery – 3 Ravens

  • Pale Ale – Mismatch Brewing Co. – Pale Ale (keg)
  • Amber Dark Ale – Nail Brewing Co. – Nail Red (keg)
  • Porter Stout – Stomping Ground Brewing Co. – Bunker (keg)
  • Hybrid Beer – Hunter Beer Co. – Slaked Magpie (keg)
  • Lager – Sydney Brewery – Surry Hills Pils (pack)
  • India Pale Ale Modus – Operandi Brewing – Former Tenant Red IPA (pack)
  • European Style Ale – Bright Brewery – Razor Witbier (keg)
  • Session Beer – Sauce Brewing Co. – Piss-Weak Sauce (pack)
  • Strong Beer – Dainton Brewery – Red Eye Rye (pack)
  • Mixed Culture Beer – Dollar Bill Brewing – Learning to Breathe (pack)

The Champion State/Territory winners are:

Champion Independent Brewery NSW – All Hands Brewing House

Champion Independent Brewery QLD – Balter Brewing

Champion Independent Brewery VIC – 3 Ravens

Champion Independent Brewery WA – Gage Roads Brewing Co.

Champion Independent Brewery ACT/NT – BentSpoke Brewing Co.

Champion Independent Brewery SA – Mismatch Brewing Co.

Champion Independent Brewery TAS – Van Dieman Brewing

Champion Australian Independent Brewpub (presented by Craft Brewery Insurance)

This year saw the introduction of this category to recognise the significant number of brewpubs in Australia and their integral role in the Australian craft beer segment.

A Brewpub is determined as servicing its local community and can be a pub, taproom or restaurant that brews beer on- premises, with at least 75% beer sold onsite.

Champion Independent Brewpub – All Hands Brewing House

Industry Nominated Awards

Each year the Indies also recognises individuals who have consistently exceeded expectations in their support, development and promotion of Australian independent beer.

Service to Industry Award (presented by Australian Brews News) Neal Cameron

Young Gun of the Year Award (presented by O-I Glassware) Dan McCulloch, Lallemands

Community Initiative of the Year Award (presented by Liquex Logistics) Stone & Wood, Ingrained Foundation

True Indie Supporter Award (presented by Thirsty Merchants) Corey Crooks, Grain Store

The Indies Awards also allows the beer industry to celebrate the success of BrewCon 2019. The brewing and business conference is the hero event for the Independent Brewers Association, held this year at the Melbourne Convention Exhibition Centre.

The conference exists to build excellence and best practice standards in the Australian beer industry.

Back to News