Dollar Bill’s repeats AIBA success at Indies

In Summary

  • Victoria’s Dollar Bill Brewing has followed up its 2023 AIBA Champion Beer trophy being named best independent beer for Gold Teeth.
  • Queensland’s Moffat Beach Brewery has continued its extraordinary Champion Brewery run being named Champion Medium Brewery, reprising its 2022 and 2021 wins, and 2020 win as Champion Brewpub. The Sunshine Coast brewery has also taken out its champion brewery class at the AIBAs for the last two years.
  • Queensland and New South Wales breweries were awarded 5 Champion class trophies each, closely followed by Victoria with 4, South Australia at 2 and Western Australia taking home 1.
  • 1,147 medals were awarded in total, with 229 Gold, 454 Silver and 464 Bronze

Media Release

Australia’s best independent beer for 2023 is Ballarat’s Dollar Bill for its Sour, Fruit & Funk category winner – Gold Teeth.

Although the quality of entries was off the charts this year, the Victorian-based brewery’s Gold Teeth stood out from 1,348 beers to take the top gong in this year’s Australian Independent Beer Awards (The Indies).

With the help of 50 stewards, 65 of the best and emerging judges from Australia, New Zealand & Indonesia spent three days tasting and evaluating some of the best-quality beers in the industry.

Head Judge, Justin Fox said: “We were blown away this year at the quality of beers entered. 229 beers were awarded gold, and an incredible 85% of all beers entered received a medal.

This medal tally demonstrates that the standard of independent beer poured in tap rooms, and packaged in fridges across Australia, is of an exceptional quality. Brewers are delivering beers absent of major technical faults and reflective of the promised style, allowing consumers to repeatedly enjoy their engagement with independent beer.”

Overall results include:

  • Total Gold Medals 229, 454 silver and 464 bronze
  • 1,147 medals were awarded in total
  • Entries included; 40 bottles, 697 can and 611 keg
  • The spread of Champion Class trophies was relatively even with Queensland and New South Wales awarded 5 each, closely followed by Victoria with 4, South Australia at 2 and Western Australia taking home 1.
  • The Pale Ale category stood out this year with 143 entries, Traditional Lager and Reduced Alcohol with 118 closely followed by Porter/Stout with 113.
  • Modern Pale and Specialty were our gold medal leaders with 19 and 22 respectively.

The Independent Beer Awards Advisory Committee Chair, Will Tatchell, stated: “the incorporation of seven new beer styles into our guidelines truly reflects the relentless dedication of the Advisory Committee.

I look forward to witnessing these new styles not only naturally flourish, but also progressively evolve as we journey into the future showcasing the incredible growth in creativity amongst our Australian brewers.”

And it’s not all about the beer. The people who make, sell and pour the beer are equally as important and were acknowledged and celebrated with peer-nominated awards.

The awards are presented by the Independent Brewers Association (IBA) and Richard Watkins, IBA Chair, added: “Both the number of entries and medals should be celebrated given some of the challenging circumstances currently facing the industry. What a way to kick the bad times to the curb!

Congratulations to all medalists, champions and entrants, you are all winners in our eyes,” Watkins said.

Kylie Lethbridge, IBA Chief Executive Officer, said: “This year we celebrated in style, in Surfers Paradise, together as an industry for the first time since 2019. The fantastic setting, warm night, great company and gorgeous array of beers was just the best way to celebrate excellence in brewing and to cheer on our 2023 award winners.

See below for a full list of trophy winners. For those that couldn’t make it in person, the Awards Ceremony was recorded and will be available on the IBA YouTube channel after the editing process is complete.


Champion Australian Independent Beer – Presented by Konvoy
Dollar Bill – Gold Teeth

Champion Australian Independent Large Brewery – Presented by Orora Beverages
Brick Lane Brewing Co.

Champion Australian Independent Medium Brewery – Presented by Cryer Malt
Moffat Beach Brewing Co.

Champion Australian Independent Small Brewery – Presented by Gladfield Malt
Madocke Beer Brewing Co.

Champion Australian Independent Contract Brewer – Presented by Rallings Label Specialists
Heaps Normal

Champion Modern Pale Ale – Presented by Yakima Chief Hops
Moon Dog Craft Brewery – Old Mate

Champion Traditional Pale Ale – Presented by Mettler-Toledo
Moffat Beach Brewing Co. – Passenger Pale Ale

Champion Amber-Dark Ale – presented by LOUD
Boston Brewing Co. – Devilslide Red IPA

Champion Porter/ Stout – Presented by CHILL
Reckless Brewing Co. – Stout

Champion Juicy-Hazy Pale Ale – Presented by Athena Quality
Aether Brewing – All Australian Pale Ale

Champion Juicy-Hazy India Pale Ale – Presented by the American Brewers Association
Dangerous Ales – Fightin With Lightin Thiolized Hazy IPA

 Champion Specialty Beer – Presented by Roxset Health & Safety Flooring
TWØBAYS Brewing – Session Ale

Champion Traditional Lager – Presented by Keg ID
Mismatch Brewing Co. – Lager

Champion Modern Lager – Presented by Barrett Burston Malting
The Wheaty Brewing Corp – Fortune

Champion Modern India Pale Ale – Presented by Hop Products Australia
Aether Brewing – IPA

Champion Traditional India Pale Ale – Presented by Coles Liquor
Seven Mile Brewing – West Coast IPA

Champion European-Style Ale – Presented by Blackhearts & Sparrows
Felons Brewing Co. – Belgian Tripel

Champion British-Style Ale – Presented by CFT Group
Merino Brewery – ESB

Champion Non-Alcohol – Presented by By George Legal
Heaps Normal – Half Day Hazy

Champion Reduced Alcohol – Presented by Presented by Lallemand Brewing
Moffat Beach Brewing Co. – Social Jam Pale Mid

Champion Strong, Wood + Barrel-Aged – Presented by Midland Insurance
Hawkers – Bourbon Barrel Aged Barley Wine 2022

Champion Sour, Fruit + Funk – Presented by The Berry Man
Dollar Bill – Gold Teeth

Champion Western Australia Brewery – Presented by the Department of Primary Industries & Regional Development WA
Black Brewing Co.

Champion ACT & Northern Territory Brewery – Presented by MH Training
Bentspoke Brewing Co.

Champion New South Wales Brewery – Presented by New South Wales Government
Philter Brewing

Champion South Australia Brewery – Presented by Tributum Law
Wheaty Brewing Corps

Champion Tasmania Brewery – Presented by the Independent Brewers Association
Moo Brew

Champion Victoria Brewery – Presented by the Victorian Drinks Alliance
Brick Lane Brewing Co.

Champion Queensland Brewery – Presented by Queensland Government
Moffat Beach Brewing Co.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Presented by Brews News
John Stallwood

Young Gun on the Year – The Crafty Pint
Evin Craney, Bright Brewery

True Indie Supporter – Presented by Thirsty Merchants
Ben Carwyn, Carwyn Cellars

Service to the Industry – Presented by Independent Brewers Association
Tiffany Waldron, Pink Boots

Back to News