Entries now open for AIBA 2020


Entries for the 2020 Australian International Beer Awards (AIBA), are now open!

The annual event celebrates and recognises the best brewers across the world with up to 34 trophies presented to the champions of each category, including the overall Champion Australian Beer and Champion International Beer.

Conducted by The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria, the AIBA is the largest annual beer competition in the world assessing both draught and packaged beer, attracting around 2,600 entries from more than 400 breweries in 26 countries.

The 28th AIBA will be judged over three big days at Melbourne Showgrounds, from 13- 15 May with RASV CEO, Brad Jenkins describing the Awards as unrivalled in both their scale and standard.

“As the world’s largest annual beer competition, the Australian International Beer Awards are the pinnacle benchmarking opportunity for producers from Australia and abroad.”

“The Awards attract the best brewers and breweries from around the world because it offers an incredible opportunity to benchmark against industry standards and place their brand among some of the most talented brewers in the world” said Mr. Jenkins.

The AIBA judging panel consists of over 75 local and international beer experts, selected for their unrivalled knowledge and experience, who judge entrants against specific criteria including appearance, aroma, flavour and body, technical quality and style.

Overseen by a highly skilled Advisory Group, the AIBA is shaped by the industry and consumer demand.

With innovation a key component of the Awards, a change has been introduced to the India Pale Ale (IPA) category that will increase the opportunities for the more than 400 IPAs that are entered each year.

Competition Manager, Kirsten Stubbings was excited to introduce the change that better recognises and rewards India Pale Ale.

“Annually, we assess each category and make changes that reflect industry trends, production techniques and consumer interest.”

“In 2020 the India Pale Ale category has been split into Best Modern IPA and Best Traditional IPA to recognise the distinct differences in styles with more than 200 entries expected in each category” said Mrs Stubbings.

Additional changes for the 2020 Awards include a new trophy for Champion Victorian Brewery, awarded by the Premier of Victoria.

To be eligible for the Champion Victorian Brewery Trophy, the brewery must be located in Victoria and must have produced the eligible entries at their own brewery. The award will be judged on the brewery’s top four (4) scoring entries, of which one must be a gold medal-winning exhibit.

Further category changes include the split of Speciality Beer to recognise the sustained growth in this sector. In 2020 the trophy has been split to incorporate the two trophies of Best Speciality Beer and Best Speciality Flavoured Beer.

All trophies are set to be awarded at the 2020 AIBA Presentation Dinner at Melbourne Showgrounds on Thursday 21 May.

Last year’s Champions of Australian Large, Medium and Small Breweries – Balter Brewing, Green Beacon Brewing Co and Blackman’s Brewing, will come together to create the highly-anticipated and strictly limited 2020 Collaboration Brew, that will be shared amongst more than 800 guests at the AIBA Presentation Dinner.

The AIBA is open for entry until Friday 27 March – for all details on how to enter head to rasv.com.au/beer.

More information can be found in the competition entry booklet.

Entries close on Friday 27 March. Enter now for your chance to take home gold.


Key Dates:

Entries Open: Tuesday 4 February

Entries Close:Friday 27 March

Deliveries to Hellmann:Monday 13 April – Friday 1 May

Melbourne Metro Deliveries to RASV:Wednesday 6 – Friday 8 May

Judging:Wednesday 13 – Friday 15 May

Good Beer Week Opening Party:Friday 15 May

Awards Presentation:Thursday 21 May

Exhibitor and Trade Tasting:Friday 22 May

Back to News Releases