New chair for the IBA

Content published under the media release byline is promotional content produced by the business(es) named in the media release and remains unedited by Brews News

Richard Adamson

The Independent Brewers Association welcomed a new Chair during its Annual General Meeting yesterday, with Peter Philip’s (Wayward Brewing) tenure as Chair ending after two years, seeing Richard Adamson (Young Henrys Brewery) assume the role.

David Kitchen (Ballistic Beer) also stepped down as Treasurer, and earlier in the year Johnny Latta (Nomad Brewing) resigned to focus on opening the new brewery in Mudgee.

As a result, three new Board Directors were voted in by members, from 12 nominations.

The new Board Directors are:

  • Callum Reeves (Co-founder of KAIJU! Beer)
  • Richard Watkins (Co-founder of BentSpoke Brewing)
  • Lauren Jack (Chief Operations Officer at Ballistic Beer)

Outgoing Chair, Peter Philip noted the changes in excise remission, winning funding for the industry 10-year blueprint, and membership growth as highlights of his tenure.

“It’s testament to people seeing there is real power in being part of an association and we can achieve great things together,” Philip said. “It’s been really satisfying, and the people I’ve met, and I’ve gotten to know have become lifelong friends.”

Richard Adamson, new IBA Chair, thanked the outgoing Directors for their hard work, guiding the IBA through the difficult circumstances of the last 18 months, and said he is looking forward to working with the team to deliver on the 10-year blueprint currently being developed.

The Directors join existing Board members Derek Hales (Bad Shepherd Brewing), Clare Clouting (Gage Roads Brewing), and Corinna Steeb (Prancing Pony).

It’s an exciting new phase for the IBA, as the industry exits COVID and builds on a decade of hard work. The organisation couldn’t be better positioned, with the right people in place, to continue to help indie beer mature while guiding its growth throughout Australia.

Back to News Releases