Lion appoints new marketing team

Following the appointment of National Marketing Director Matt Tapper to the newly created role of Managing Director Global Markets, Lion has restructured its marketing leadership team with three appointments to the Lion Beer, Spirits & Wine Executive Leadership Team.

  • Tanya Marler has been appointed Marketing Director – Brand and Innovation, with leadership responsibility for XXXX, Tooheys, Hahn, James Boags, Lion’s international premium brands, Innovation and Communications – which incorporates Digital, Media, Sponsorship and Experiential.
  • Ben Slocombe has been appointed Marketing Director – Category and Planning, with leadership responsibility for Category, Shopper, Planning and Insights, and Lion’s beer and cider category strategies across the Tasman – including the recently launched Beer the Beautiful Truth initiative.
  • Gordon Treanor has been appointed Marketing Director – Craft and Cider, with leadership responsibility for Lion’s craft brands, hospitality venues, craft breweries and cider portfolio.

Lion Beer, Spirits & Wine Managing Director James Brindley said the elevation of three marketing leadership roles to the Executive Leadership Team would provide focus and resource behind Lion’s biggest areas of opportunity.

“As Australia’s leading brewer we are committed to revitalising the beer category and getting it back into growth. To achieve this we need to build the brands consumers demand while continuing to evolve the accessibility and relevance of the category, and we believe dedicated brand and category leadership positions will support this dual focus.

“We also understand that our craft and cider portfolios require a different management approach to our broader beer portfolio and the appointment of a Craft and Cider Director will ensure each receive the focus and support they need to grow.

“Tanya, Ben and Gordon have consistently delivered high quality results for Lion over many years and I congratulate them on their appointments.”

The appointments are effective from 1 October 2015.

Back to Historical