Submissions open for 2023 GABS Can Design Awards

Content published as an Announcement is produced by the business(es) named in the announcement and remains unedited by Brews News.

GABS Can Design Awards banner 2023

The Great Australiasian Beer SpecTAPular are thrilled to announce the return of the highly anticipated GABS Can Design Awards presented by Orora, in partnership with Opal Specialty Packaging and Bintani, as we celebrate the pinnacle of craft beer can design for the fourth consecutive year!

In today’s market, where exceptional brews of the utmost quality grace the shelves of retailers, the exterior of the can is proving more important than ever. The beloved tinnie has become the new blank CANvas for street art.  It has become the ultimate challenge for brewery creatives to captivate attention, stand out among the crowd and bring to life the narrative of the delicious craft beer inside.

All craft breweries are now invited to submit a beer can design which was released after 2 October 2022.  All entries will be displayed in a beautiful digital art gallery where beer and art lovers will then be asked to select their favourite three designs in a people’s choice vote. The TOP 10 designs are then adjudicated by an esteemed panel of industry experts.

Three beers that were on the podium at the 2022 GABS Can Design Awards

Whilst entries are free, the winning designer walks away with $1,000 in cash and the brewery will receive the prestigious Orora golden can trophy, a set of Orora printing plates and one ton of malt from leading ingredients supplier, Bintani. An additional $5,000 worth of prizes from Opal Specialty Packaging is shared amongst the Top 10 Finalists.

Don’t miss out on a fantastic opportunity to celebrate all the beautiful work your marketing teams do and to introduce your brand to new audiences as you get in front of thousands of beer and art enthusiasts! Breweries can submit their designs now at

Key Dates

  • Design Submissions: 19 July to 30 July 2023 at
  • People’s Choice Voting: 4 August to 20 August 2023 at
  • Expert Panel Review: 28 August to 3 September 2023
  • Winner Announcement: 8 September 2023
Back to Announcements